Punjab Government shakes up Punjab Police with new CP and SPs in districts that faced brutal killings, law and order disturbance

Punjab witnessed brutal killing of Dera Sacha Sauda follower Pardeep Singh after killing of Shiv Sena leader Sudhir Suri this month while earlier witnessing Punjab singer Sidhu Moosewala's killing, RPG attack, violence in Patiala leading to severe criticism from all quarters

Punjab Police Headquarters

New Delhi, November 14

The Punjab Government has transferred 30 IPS and three PPS officers with immediate effect. The recent brutal killing of Sirsa-based Dera Sacha Sauda follower Pardeep Singh, an accused in the 2015 Bargari sacrilege case led to major criticism of the situation of law and order in the state. 

Shiv Sena (Taksali) leader Sudhir Suri was killed in Amritsar on November 4 few days before Pardeep’s Singh’s murder. 

IPS officer Jaskaran Singh (1998), who was IG Ferozepur Range will be the new Amritsar police commissioner with additional charge of IG (Punjab Armed Police), Jalandhar.

The 1997-batch IPS officer Arunpal Singh who was Commissioner of Police, Amritsar has been now posted as inspector general of police (IGP), Provisioning. 

IPS officer Nanak Singh has been posted as the new SSP of Mansa, replacing Gaurav Toora who has been appointed as assistant inspector general (AIG), personnel-II. 

It is to be noted that Masa witnessed Punjabi singer Sidhu Moosewala brutal killing on May 29. Later gangster Deepak Tinu, an accused in Moosewala’s murder, had escaped from Mansa police custody.

Toora replaces 2013-batch IPS officer Kanwardeep Kaurwho has been posted as Ferozepur SSP, replacing Surendra Lamba. 

The 2012-batch officer Sandeep Garg as the new SSP  Mohali replacing Vivek Sheel Soni (2011) who has been shifted as Ropar SSP. In Mohali, a rocket propelled grenade attack was carried out on Punjab police intelligence headquarters in May, few days before Moosewala was murdered. 

Deepak Pareek (2014), who was serving as Patiala SSP, has been transferred as AIG (Personnel-I). He has been replaced by Varun Sharma (2014), who was AIG Counter Intelligence.

On April 29 this year, there was violence in Patiala involving members of Shiv Sena and Sikh groups, following which curfew had to be imposed in the city.

2011-batch IPS officer Gurmeet Singh Chauhan, who was serving as AIG (Anti-Gangster Task Force), has been posted as Tarn Taran SSP, replacing 2008-batch IPS officer Ranjit Singh, who in turn has been posted as Ferozepur Range DIG.
 IPS officer Kuldeep Singh has been appointed as head of the anti-drug special task force replacing Harpreet Singh Sidhu, as per the official order who is gearing up to move on central deputation to Indo-Tibetan Border Police.

Senior IPS officer B Chandra Sekhar has been given the charge of additional director general of police (prisons) while L K Yadav goes as director, bureau of investigation.

R K Jaiswal (1997) who was awaiting posting has been appointed as IGP (STF), in place of same batch’s Gurinder Singh Dhillon who has been posted as IGP (Law and Order). 1998-batch IPS officer Shive Kumar Verma who was IGP (Law and Order) has been posted as IGP (Security). Gursharan Singh Sandhu has been posted as IGP, Jalandhar range.

Mandeep Singh Sidhu has been posted as Ludhiana Police Commissioner, replacing Kaustubh Sharma who has been posted as IGP, Human Rights and IGP, Ludhiana Range. S Boopathi, deputy inspector general (DIG), provisioning, has been given additional charge of Commissioner of Police, Jalandhar.

Opinderjit Singh Ghuman goes as SSP, Muktsar, replacing Sachin Gupta who is posted as AIG, provisioning.

SPS Parmar has been posted as IGP, Bathinda range while Naunihal Singh, who is IGP, personnel, has been given additional charge of IGP, Punjab Armed Police-II. Gurdial Singh goes as DIG, AGTF. Ranjit Singh has been posted as DIG, Ferozepur range.

Inderbir Singh, who was serving as DIG-cum-Joint Director Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Police Academy, Phillaur; DIG Administration PAP, Jalandhar; and DIG (PAP-II) & Training has been stripped of the first charge, which has been handed over to Narinder Bhargav.

Gurdial Singh, who was Joint Commissioner of Police (Traffic and Operations), Ludhiana, has been posted as DIG (AGTF), Punjab. Naveen Singla, who was AIG (Special Branch-I, Intelligence) will look after the work of DIG Administration.

In addition to that, three Punjab Police Services (PPS) officers Manjit Singh, Balwant Kaur and Harmeet Singh have also been given new posting orders.


Around The World

Around The World


View More Articles