Delhi Police detained AAP leaders who were protesting against CBI's questioning of Dy CM Manish Sisodia

Ahead of Sisodia’s questioning at 11 am, police had imposed Section 144 in the New Delhi district by Delhi Police

Photo Credit : Sourced,

AAP protests against questioning of leader Manish Sisodia by CBI in liquor policy scam case

New Delhi, October 17

The Delhi Police detained AAP MP Sanjay Singh and MLAs Durgesh Pathak, Rakhi Birla, Kuldeep Kumar, Jarnail Singh, Pankaj Gupta and Kartar Singh for holding a sit-in protest outside the CBI headquarters in Delhi.

The police stated that the AAP leaders and members had violated the prohibitory orders.

The CBI had summoned AAP leader Manish Sisodia for questioning in the Delhi liquor policy scam. 

Ahead of Sisodia’s questioning at 11 am, police had imposed Section 144 in the New Delhi district. 

The Delhi Police had set up heavy security and deployed police personnel at the minister’s residence on Mathura Road and Rajghat while roads leading to the CBI headquarters were heavily barricaded with water cannons and police vans deployed.

Before he headed to the CBI office, Sisodia took out a roadshow to Rajghat with hundreds of AAP supporters and MLAs walking along with him in support. 

He reached Rajghat around 10-10.15 am and paid his respects at the Gandhi samadhi along with MP Sanjay Singh and MLAs Saurabh Bhardwaj and Pathak.

Around 1.15 pm, party workers and AAP leaders were detained with police personnel seen dragging Singh and MLAs Kuldeep Kumar, Jarnail Singh and others. Pathak reportedly fainted in the process while Kumar lay on the road and refused to budge.

The party leaders were detained and taken to different police stations. 

Meanwhile, AAP MLAs Somnath Bharti, Sanjeev Jha and few others waited at the CGO complex signal while Sisodia was being questioned. 

The Delhi Police maintained that the detained members and leaders had violated Section 144 of the CrPc. 


Around The World

Around The World


View More Articles